10 Item(s)

per page

Most Recent Customer Reviews

10 Item(s)

per page
Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
June 13, 2018
Groundhog pushed its way out of the cage...and it was not even a large one By Taylor J

I have trapped many groundhogs over the past decade. After loaning out a trap and not getting it back, I bought a new one two years ago. This morning I caught a small/medium sized groundhog. After going in to get changed, so I could drop it off, I came outside to find it gone. The trap was still in place and clearly it just pushed its way out. Unfortunately the warranty is only for 1 year. As I read many other reviews with this problem, the customer service response was: "it is very important to release the animal as soon as possible." I was trying to do that. What if it had pushed open in the back of my van?

Response From Havahart®
Jennifer : Consumer Relations Representative

Hello Taylor,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are very sorry to hear of this experience! For testing purposes, we recommend setting the trap and then tripping it manually. Are you able to reach through the side of the trap and push the door open from the inside? If not, the trap is working correctly.

We recommend placing the bait at the back of the trap; it can also be hung from the roof of the trap just past the trip plate. This will help to ensure the animal is fully inside the trap before the door closes.

Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) with any questions or for additional assistance.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
August 25, 2017
Will not hold Texas sized armadillo! By Unhappy

I have a model 1079 and it will not hold an armadillo. First time he bent the sheet metal holding the spring in place. Second time he forced the door open passed the lock. Very disappointed with the trap. Cheaply made! I would expect a little more for a $50 trap.

Response From Havahart®
Lauren : Consumer Relations Representative

Havahart® aims to provide our customers with high-quality and reliable products. We regret that this trap did not meet those expectations and apologize for this experience. We appreciate this feedback and have shared these concerns with our Product Manager.

This trap is backed by a 30 day satisfaction guarantee and covered under a one year warranty. Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) so we may learn more and better assist.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
August 6, 2017
Unhappy With Havahart Service By Rich

Bought this about 7 months ago and has never worked right. The door will not close when weight is put on the spring. I contacted the store where I bought it at and was told that Havahart would not replace it for them and they would not for me. I contacted Havahart but never got a reply.

Response From Havahart®
Lauren : Consumer Relations Representative

Hello Rich,

Thank you for providing this feedback. At Havahart®, we strive for customer satisfaction and would like to learn more so we may take this opportunity to make things right.

Our traps are covered under a one year warranty for replacement. Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) for additional assistance.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
August 16, 2016
Piece of junk By Nothappy
Would not recommend. The door lock keeps falling off the cage after the trap springs. It has caught one small raccoon but three larger ones were able to escape. Poorly made part and assembly. Raccoon jostles the cage during the night trying to get out, the lock falls off and they push open the door. They have better record than I do.
Response From Havahart®
Tara : Consumer Relations Representative
We recommend releasing the raccoon as soon as possible. The longer an animal stays in a cage the more hungry, anxious, and frightened they get.

Thank you for providing your feedback. We apologize for this experience. The traps are covered by a one year warranty. Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) for further assistance.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
August 5, 2016
The Raccoon escaped By Grand Torino

I set up the trap with bait. The next morning the bait was gone and the door was closed. After examining the trap I noticed that a small spring looked as if it had been removed from its original position and that I could easily open the trap door with two fingers pushing it. Imagine a raccoon using the full force of his body pushing on the door. It was an easy escape. Upon setting up the trap initially I noticed that the trap would close by itself. I believe that was because the spring is so flimsy and weak. When the trap is triggered I noticed that the door does not slam shut as some to the other traps that I have seen. Again this is because of the weak spring. I would recommend that a larger and stronger spring be used in this trap to ensure that the trap stays closed. I returned this trap to Home Depot where I purchased it.

Response From Havahart®
Tara : Consumer Relations Representative

It is very important to check on your trap periodically to ensure your animal does not remain inside the cage for an elongated period of time. The longer the animal is left in the trap, the more anxious, frightened and hungry it will get. We recommend to release the animal as soon as possible.


We apologize for this experience and appreciate the feedback. Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) for additional assistance.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
July 27, 2016
Not Strong Enough to hold a Groundhog!!!!!!!! By Mad Dog

After catching several squirrels and a skunk in this borrowed (Animal Control) trap (Large, one door, 32x10x12), I finally caught the large groundhog who lives under my deck! After eating the bait, she turned around, pushed her snout against the trap door, and PUSHED HER WAY OUT, breaking the door (the latch at the front of the door released and fell forward. I called Havahart and asked if there was a stronger trap but was advised that while there were bigger traps, they were not stronger. Does anyone know of another way to get rid of the groundhog?

Response From Havahart®
Tara : Consumer Relations Representative

We apologize for this experience. The trap is designed to catch groundhogs, however it is very important to release the animal as soon as possible. The longer an animal is trapped, the longer it will grow anxious, frightened, and hungry. It is very important to check on your trap periodically to ensure your animal does not remain inside the cage for an elongated period of time.


Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) for further assistance.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
February 2, 2016
It breaks! By dr e

About six weeks ago I bought this same trap. After about a month, a raccoon destroyed that trap. After a week, another raccoon seriously damaged that new trap. I am trying to repair the damage caused by poor design.

Response From Havahart®
Kelly : Consumer Relations Representative

To help keep the animal calm we recommend covering the trap with a blanket or brush so they are not able to see out of the trap.


We apologize for this experience and would like to learn more about what has occurred. The trap is covered under a one year warranty from the date of purchase. Our Consumer Relations Team can be reached at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) with any questions.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
November 1, 2015
Lacks sturdiness, numerous failures By SJim
I attempted to trap raccoons. Often the bait was gone with the trap sprung, The raccoon apparently beat against the trap door until the latch vibrated out of place allowing the door to open. I did manage to trap one smaller raccoon. The trap door eventually came apart rendering the trap unusable. Bought a larger trap which also proved to be a waste of money
Response From Havahart®
Lauren : Consumer Relations Representative
Thank you for sharing this feedback. We apologize for the recent experience with this trap.

When an animal has been caught in a trap, they can begin to panic if left inside too long or if they are without food, water, or access to their young. To help keep an animal calm while inside a trap, we recommend draping a burlap sack over the trap. It is also very important to frequently check the traps to ensure the animal is not trapped for too long.

We appreciate this feedback and would like to learn more so we may offer additional assistance. Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) with any questions.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
October 17, 2015
poorfeatures- coonsreach through wire and reach ba By lump
I use this trap for coons- it is hard to bait and coons reach throughmesh and get to bait and trip the trap
Response From Havahart®
L : Consumer Relations Representative
Thank you for taking the time to share this review. This trap is designed so that the wires are closer together near the back of the trap. This helps to prevent animals with nimble fingers, such as raccoons, from stealing the bait from the outside.

We apologize for this recent experience and would like to learn more. Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) for additional assistance.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
October 12, 2015
It broke By Dmpr
I don't know what sort of creature I trapped but it broke itself out of the trap by bending up the top panel and bending the spring loaded "bail" outward by about 15 degrees. Armadillo-Zilla? Or weak trap?
Response From Havahart®
Lauren : Consumer Relations Representative
Thank you for sharing this feedback. Havahart® strives to provide our customers with high-quality traps. We regret that this trap did not meet those expectations and apologize for this experience.

When trapping, it is important to release a captured animal as soon as possible so they do not begin to panic inside the trap. Draping a burlap sack over the trap can help to keep an animal calmer once captured.

We appreciate this feedback and would like to take this opportunity to offer additional assistance. Our traps are covered under a one year warranty for replacement. Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) with any questions.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Havahart® Large 1-Door Animal Trap - 2 Pack

How do you rate this product? *

 
1
2
3
4
5
Review Rate