Items 1 to 10 of 76 total

per page
  1. View All
  1. |
  2. Previous
  3. 1
  4. 2
  5. 3
  6. 4
  7. 5
  8. ...
  9. 8

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 76 total

per page
  1. View All
  1. |
  2. Previous
  3. 1
  4. 2
  5. 3
  6. 4
  7. 5
  8. ...
  9. 8
Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
October 15, 2017
totally not satisfied By chris

twice raccoons have excaped thru the 'back' of the trap. the back panel of the trap was twisted in one case and lifted in another. i am going back to the old, 'fixed' model that is ready to go out of the box - not the folded model that must be put together. i can send photos of torqued trap.

Response From Havahart®
Jennifer : Consumer Relations Representative

We apologize for this experience. This trap is covered by a 30 day return policy and a one year warranty with a copy of the purchase receipt. Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) for additional assistance.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
October 9, 2017
more innovation and testing needed By Steve

I bought a model 1085 to trap a raccoon about tree years ago. The trap set in my attic until last week, when an armadillo needed to be trapped. Everything looked good until the next morning. The trap appeared to have been attacked by Godzilla. The trap door was severely bent and the door arm was bent almost in two. After spend- ing 2 hours repairing the trap, I noticed that the door had not seated itself properly. I also mounted 2 narrow steel bars on the trap door to seat the door more quickly and securely. Now the trap can function properly.

Response From Havahart®
Jennifer : Consumer Relations Representative

We apologize for this experience. The time taken to share this feedback  is appreciated and the information has been passed along to our Product Managers.

Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) with any questions or for additional assistance.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
September 28, 2017
Great trap By Fred

Works great. Caught 3 raccoons the first week. Safe and easy to release animals. They do stink though so if you don't have a truck box you will have to have your windows open to transport them.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
September 15, 2017
Did the job. Very pleased. By wavehunter

After getting a quote from a company to trap an opossum that was living under our home I decided to trap it myself. Ordered this trap and it came within a few days. Propped open the trap without bait for two nights. Another night with a small amount of dry cat food. Last night set it with bait and in the morning I had the possum. Trap worked great. Relocated the critter. Saved me a bunch of money. The Havaheart trap worked great. No malfunctions.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
August 29, 2017
Works great on Armadillo"s By Mr. Gopher/Armadillo man of north west Florida

Used this trap for Armadillo....Worked great.and was a help in the quick release. i don't have time to play with the doors and keep my fingers away from the opening.i'll be getting more for my trapping Biz. and the other are going in a garage sale.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
August 9, 2017
Does not trap kittens By Michael

Rented from this trap in an attempt to catch kittens in the backyard. Saw the kitten evaluating the can of tuna but she did not go in. Returned five minutes later and the can was moved and the tuna partially eaten but the trap did not activate. I swear I thought I could see that kitten snickering as she ran off! Tested trap with a stick and it appeared to work. I contacted Havahart to learn if there is a weight rating on this trap to which they claim there is none. I would rate this trap NOT FOR KITTENS....

Response From Havahart®
Lauren : Consumer Relations Representative

Hello Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. This large size trap is intended for trapping armadillos, cats, groundhogs, muskrats, nutria, opossums, raccoons, skunks, and other similarly sized animals.

Young cats and kittens may not trip the trap if they are not the same weight as the other types of animals listed. To trap a smaller cat or kitten, a small to medium sized trap is recommended for best results.

Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) with any questions.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
July 30, 2017
Disappointed By Wayne

First time used the trap was sprung, I'm assuming by an armadillo! Door locking Mechanism/spring to hold door closed was bent outward, door was bent and animal escaped. Not at all happy since this was the same experience I've had with less expensive traps. For the price paid I would expect a sturdier manufactured product, apparently it's not. The only nice feature is how easily it is set. DISAPPOINTED! Today is Sunday so customer service is closed, Monday I will attempt contact to voice my dissatisfaction!

Response From Havahart®
Patty : Consumer Relations Representative

Hello Wayne,

Havahart® has a long history of producing high-quality and reliable products. We apologize for this experience and are glad to see that our team member is already working with you to make this right.

Our traps are covered by a 30 day return policy and a one year replacement warranty. Feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) with any additional questions.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
July 18, 2017
11 Raccoons and counting. By Iowa Guy

First off, I am a city boy that has never caught any live animals before. But in the last two weeks I have trapped and relocated 11 raccoons and it appears I am going to be busy for at least another week. It was somewhat dumb luck that I picked the model #1085 since I knew nothing about trapping. But I had good instincts that the large cover plate surrounding the handle would be a good thing when picking a loaded cage up ( don't know why you would even build a cage without the large protective plate). The Easy-Set feature pays off in droves at release time. You can stand in back of the cage and safely release the raccoon. Out of 11 times, they all have gone shooting straight ahead without every stopping to say goodbye. The cage and the raccoons both require some thinking time. Sooner or later you will find the food gone and the door closed. How did it happen? I borrowed a trail cam to fid out that answer. Sometime the raccoon would reach inside the cage to grab some food (usually marshmallows) and would hit the trip plate while dragging the food around. Other times, the big raccoons would walk in the cage, grab the food and may hit the trip plate, but his giant behind was still partially out the door and he was able to back out. That required some adjustment as to how to force him back further in the cage to get the food. I found taking a small plastic lid, poking two holes in it and securing it with a plastic wire tie to the bottom of the cage, kept him from being able to drag the lid closer to him without tripping the plate. He was forced to go all the way in and then WHAM....he was trapped. Before transporting the raccoon, I would put a couple of thick carabiner clips just above the closed door. That was a safeguard for putting him in my SUV for the drive to their new home. Didn't want to find Rocky Raccoon had pulled a Houdini while driving down the highway. I have inspected the cage carefully and there is not a bent wire anywhere. I would say this was very sturdy construction. To be successful, you just have to think a little smarter than the raccoons and realize that you will occasionally provide a free meal....but don't worry as they will be back and become a prisoner. These are wild animals and you need to always glove up with thick leather gloves before picking the cage up. I always clean the cage out with a bleach solution (50-50) in a spray bottle and then wash it down with soap and water. Rabies are not uncommon in raccoons so keep that in mind. Even when setting the trap and putting food inside, I am mindful of disease and put on disposable surgical gloves before loading the food in. That also has the added bonus of keeping the human scent off of your food. It works for me!

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
June 5, 2017
Poor quality of wire in cage....good design..... By Johnny

We purchased trap model #1085, last week, purchase price of $50. We have a coon problem, destroying flowering shurbs.......the design of the trap is great....the ease of releasing works very well....Buuutt....the quality of the wire is poor.....we've captured four coons....each one bending and breaking the wires of the cage....must be a soft wire, certainly not strong enough for coons....3 of the coons were released and #4 escaped.....We now have a hole in the cage, which will require patching.....should NOT have to repair a cage that's less then a week old!!

Response From Havahart®
Lauren : Consumer Relations Representative

Hello Johnny,

Thank you for taking the time to share this experience. Havahart® is known for its long history of providing high-quality products. We regret that you received something not meeting this standard.

Our traps are constructed with high tensile galvanized steel. We would like to learn more about this experience and take this opportunity to make things right. This trap is backed by a 30 day return policy and covered under a one year warranty.

Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at  1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) for additional assistance.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
June 3, 2017
Do Not Recommend this trap By SB

This will be the last trap I buy from this company. Had a coon get out just last night. Cheap spring material, and now the trap is useless as it doesn't have enough tension to keep it closed.

Response From Havahart®
Patty : Consumer Relations Representative

Havahart® has a long history of producing high-quality and reliable products. We apologize for this experience and would be happy to provide assistance.

Our traps are covered by a one year replacement warranty. Please give our Consumer Relations Team a call at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) so we can learn more and make this right.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Havahart® Large 1-Door Easy Set® Trap

How do you rate this product? *

 
1
2
3
4
5
Review Rate