10 Item(s)

per page

Most Recent Customer Reviews

10 Item(s)

per page
Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
April 27, 2019
Charlichon By The Calypso Ranch

I am a little bit disappointed because the trap needs a lot a adjustment to be able to work properly. Mostly with the door security latch. I did caught some animals, but I also missed a lot because of that door lock. The animals were able to enter the trap, eat the food and get out and have the door closed. These are mostly Racoons. My neighbor has the same problem with his 2 traps. They need some precision adjustment. This is a must in order to perform properly.

Response From Havahart®
Jules : Consumer Relations Representative

Hello,


We're sorry to hear about your recent experience with this trap! The trap should function properly without additional modifications, and we'd like to hear more. Don't forget, all of our traps are covered by a 30-Day Guarantee. Please contact our Customer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242)


Best regards,


Jules
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Havahart®

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
January 18, 2017
XL live trap By zeppelin119

I ordered 2 traps the first one worked great but the second trap had an issue with the trigger. The rod from the pan to the trigger was to long and when the pan was pressed it would not trigger the door. After messing with the trigger and pan for at least an hour the trap ended up in the trash.

Response From Havahart®
Lauren : Consumer Relations Representative

We apologize for this experience and encourage any consumer who receives product that is damaged or incomplete to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242), as our traps are covered by a one year warranty.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
January 3, 2017
Easy to use By Gemmas Mom

I bought this trap about a month ago for my lost dog. This was the largest trap I was able to find online. I believe it said for large dog. I was planning on using for my 40 pound dog but the size is more for a large raccoon or perhaps a 15-20 pound dog. They were easy to use and sturdy. For the right size animal it would have been ideal. I will be donating them to Animal Dog Rescue of the Everglades since my fur baby is back home.

Response From Havahart®
Patty : Consumer Relations Representative

We appreciate the time taken to provide this feedback and are glad to hear that your dog has returned home. This trap is recommended to be used for armadillos, beavers, bobcats, cats, dogs, foxes, groundhogs, opossums, and raccoons. The size of dog is not specified, but would be roughly the size of the other animals listed. We are sure that the Animal Dog Rescue will appreciate the donation. Feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) with any additional questions.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
October 11, 2016
So-So By coveylane

I bought a 1081 to possibly catch a Bob Cat which may have taken two of our cats. I caught a raccoon the very first night. Since that I have had two others trapped and both escaped. Both were in long enough to root up the grass around it and drag it inside the trap. Both left a stinky calling card also. Then they figured a way out and went on the lamb. Both are at large at present. Now I have a less than a week old trap which I will have to modify to keep them in once trapped (or I guess not trapped if they got out)

Response From Havahart®
Patty : Consumer Relations Representative

We appreciate the time taken to provide this feedback and apologize for the experience. Traps should be checked frequently and the animal relocated as soon as possible after being trapped. We recommend placing a blanket or tarp over the trap to keep the animal calmer until it is released. Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) for additional assistance. Our traps are covered by a one year replacement warranty.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
September 15, 2016
It "ain't" what it used to be! By Phread
I just bought 2 of these to compliment the one I had already owned for 20 years or more. The old one has worked great, and still does! Same model, same size. But the new ones are not built as well and have implemented a few "minor" design changes that I believe to be detriments:
1. As delivered, neither cage would not latch into the door lock bracket when tripped because the outer door rubbed against the top of the cage and would not reach the lock. An animal could easily push against the door and pop it open. I had to bend the top of the cage up (not the easiest thing to do to get it just right) to allow enough clearance for the outer door to clear the top of the cage and securely lock into the bracket.
2. The frame is of lighter build and was slightly out of square when I received them. This too prevents the outer door from closing and latching securely. See next item.
3. The trigger rod on the old cage was designed to be in front of the outer door when it was closed - no interference at all between the trigger rod and the outer door. The new cages have the trigger mechanism beside (or a little behind) the outer door when it is closed - the door must pass by the trigger to engage the door lock bracket. When the cage is just a little out of square as noted above (uneven ground, etc.) the door catches on the trigger and does not engage into the lock bracket. On one of the cages, the outer door was tangled in the trigger rod when I took it out of the box and it took some effort to get it free to even allow the door to move.
3. The rod from the trigger plate to the door release trigger rod is now on the outside of the cage instead of the inside. An animal can easily trip the trap by brushing against the rod without being in the cage! Coons are good at that.

I thought about returning the cages for a refund due to these deficiencies, but after bending the top to let the outer door swing clear and being aware of the more flimsy construction, I kept them. I highly doubt that the new cages will give the decades of service the old style cage has given. If you buy this cage, be aware that you will have to make some mechanical adjustments.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
September 12, 2016
Too Short By Fab Shop

We purchased this about a month ago and have been trying to catch a raccoon. We have baited the trap with multiple types of bait and the culprit is able to steal the bait from the trap without setting it off. We have wrapped the back of the trap with clear plastic so it can't reach through the cage, and it is going inside the cage and reaching over the trip switch and getting the bait. We purchased the XL trap to remedy this issue that we were having with our other traps.

Response From Havahart®
Tara : Consumer Relations Representative

We appreciate the time taken to share your feedback and apologize for this experience. We recommend digging a small hole and placing the bait in the hole. Place the back of the trap over the hole. This will make it more difficult for the raccoon to get the bait.


Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) for additional assistance.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
June 28, 2016
Less than substantial By DIYken

I had to reinforce this trap in many places because the "horse" size armadillos around here will force their way out at the weak points. I had the smaller trap and an armadillo completely destroyed the trap and I even had to get some reinforcement welded on the door to continue using it.

Response From Havahart®
Lauren : Consumer Relations Representative

When an armadillo is trapped, they may quickly become anxious and scared. Armadillos in particular are known to attempt to dig the bottom of a trap or ram their bodies against the sides. We recommend frequently checking the trap for a catch so the animal is not left caught for an extended period of time.


We hope this information is helpful and appreciate this feedback. Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) for additional assistance.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
February 21, 2016
Needs Improvement By Smiley

Might be a good trap but needs stronger door hinge clamping. A bobcat that came back to finish the chicken it killed, rammed the door and its hold down brace entirely off trap to escape. Found two sprung clamps with what looks like hot glue gun glue on them.

Response From Havahart®
Susan : Consumer Relations Representative

We appreciate the time taken to share these comments and feedback regarding the construction of the trap. Our Havahart® traps are designed to be durable; we apologize that this was not your experience.


Please keep in mind that our products are covered by a one year warranty. Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242). We would like the opportunity to learn more and offer further assistance.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
December 7, 2015
x-large 1 door trap By Ignorant Jim
Perhaps I was just stupid and didn't understand, but when the ad said "one door" I assumed that meant the animal could only enter from one side of the trap. Unfortunately, "one-door" means that you have no safe way to release the trapped animal. You must let it out by putting yourself in danger of blocking the animal's escape and being bitten. One way in, and one way out... I am disappointed in that. Don't be dumb like me. Get the two-door trap and be safe.
Response From Havahart®
Susan : Consumer Relations Representative
Hello Jim,

When releasing an animal, we recommend standing next to the trap and carefully reaching around to place the door release tool. Once this has been placed and the door lock is released, the trap can be rolled upside down from the back of the trap. When upside down, the door will fall open and the animal can run out.

We've also found that animals are most interested in running away from you as fast as they possibly can. This instinctual behavior helps to keep the animal AND people safe.

Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) with any additional questions.`
Review Rate
Review posted on www.havahart.com
July 1, 2015
Great except for setting By golf ball
I lost three nights worth of bait, and didn't catch the raccoon. You have to make very sure that the trigger piece is just barely hooked around the metal bar that is on top of cage, and that the spring bar on the floor is slightly raised up for the raccoon to step on.
Response From Havahart®
Kelly : Consumer Relations Representative
Hello,
When the trap is set the trigger plate should be raised to allow the trap to trip when the animal steps on the plate. Hanging the bait from the top of the trap can also help to reduce bait theft as the animal has to struggle to get the bait.
Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. We are glad to hear that raccoon was able to be relocated. Our Consumer Relations Team can be reached at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242) with any questions.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Havahart® X-Large 1-Door Trap

How do you rate this product? *

 
1
2
3
4
5
Review Rate